2018 Orb Media Group China-Hollywood Screenwriting Fellowship Semifinalists Announced

by ScreenCraft - updated on September 6, 2018

Today we announce the semifinalists for the inaugural Orb Media China-Hollywood Screenwriting Fellowship. These writers comprise approximately the top 10% of applicants. The finalists and recipients will be selected and announced in the next few weeks.

Orb Media Group will select two (2) winners who will each be offered an option fee, one of which will be at least WGA minimum (up to $13,374) against a six-figure purchase price at WGA scale contingent on production (up to $133,739 each, depending on the final budget of each film). Orb Media Group and its partners will financially back and develop the projects for production and distribution with partners in China and the United States. The recipients will be provided with round-trip travel to the Shanghai International Film Festival in June 2018 to participate in special training and mentorship programs in partnership with the Shanghai Film School.

Congratulations to these talented screenwriters, and to the quarterfinalists.

The following 2018 semifinalists have advanced to the penultimate round of consideration for the awards:

731 Brady Nelson
"Land that we love" Julian Awoonor Renner
#CLOUDMAN Craig Rosenthal
20/20: Search for Independence Harold Brown
40 Millimeter Steve Hochman
Absolute Advantage Mark Layne
Anchor Baby Ran Jing & Bridget Johnson
Armor Bryant Daluz
Arriving Home Shutan Ren
Aviatrix Bob Shayne
Beneath the Banyan Tree Li Yang
Black Sun Rising Jimmy Lui
Call of the Brazos Charles Crawford
China Gold Dan Schieberl
China Heist Charles Picard
China Road Robert C Fleet
Circus Boy Stephen Curran
Conspiracy of Silence Kenneth Howard
Diao Chan Chris Denholm
Dreaming of You Dermot O'Donnell
Dynasty Warrior Joshua Redfield
Exploit Mark  Anderson
Flying Tiger David Bryant Perkins
Foxed James Stewart
Gunmetal Black Dennis Venter
HaoWen & Molly Olivia Sblendorio
Ho Chi Minh Is Dead Maggie Hames
Kuan Yin and the Min River Bridge Kathryn Kyker
Leaving Town Stephen Curran
Love Nation Katherine Carter
Luk Ah Choi: Shaolin Hero Joey Cheung Lai Ling & Brian Chumney
Operation Stormy Weather  Martin Bernard Foley
Payola Edward Klau
Shaolin Nanny Todd Weinger
Silver Wings A.W. 'Tony' Scott
Sleeping Lotus by Elwood Kondert Helmut Metzger
Son David Bornstein, Trevor Davies
Special Guest Aharon Kampe
Steam and Gold Jack McLaughlin & Alan J. Bailey
Stringer Andrea Janakas
Tea Leaves & Gun Smoke Jerry Redfield III
The Deliverer Ross Denyer
The Festival Dene Stark
The Fight After Gunnar E Garrett Jr.
The Flowering Ryan Weatrowski
The Golden Dragon Massacre Ryan Chong
The Kung Fu Rock Chick Caryn McCann
The Last Deer Steven Hoerger
The Moon Rabbit Alexandra Timmer
The Panjiayuan Diary Tim Plaehn
The Path Jon Smith & Ian Masters
The Puddle Jumper Arla Bowers
The Quality of a Memory Austin Nordell
The Secret Detectives Neil Knox
The Abolitionists Leslie Lyshkov
Unjust Lands Joshua Cavalier
Vertical Eric Christopherson
White Lies Helmut Metzger
Willowport Jess Ansik
Wolfblood Jaime Silverman
Zero Day Zachary Grashin & Joe Harkins

Get Our Newsletter!

Get weekly writing inspiration delivered to your inbox - including industry news, popular articles, and more!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Developing Your Own Script?

We'll send you a list of our free eCourses when you subscribe to our newsletter. No strings attached.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

You Might Also Like

Your success is our #1 priority. We provide aspiring writers industry access, free resources and inspiration, and a community to support you through every step of your creative journey.

Writing Competitions

Success Stories