Sign up for our Newsletter
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

2017 ScreenCraft Comedy Screenplay Contest Winners Announced!

by Cameron Cubbison on August 15, 2017

We have come to a consensus and are excited to announce that The Triple Engagement by Robert Troccolo has been selected as the Grand Prize Winner of the 2017 ScreenCraft Comedy Screenplay Contest. It’s a fun and entertaining romantic comedy that marries concept and character. Here is the logline:

After a woman left at the altar twice is given an ultimatum by a psychic that if she doesn’t marry in one year she’ll never marry, she hatches a plan to get engaged to three men and marry whoever shows up.

We’re also proud to highlight Last Christmas by Kate Erickson as the runner-up. It's a seriocomic and surprising road trip comedy that centers on a woman clinging to her last strand of dignity, who takes her dementia-addled mother and her estranged sister on a road trip to their family cabin for one last Christmas together.

Both of these engaging scripts exude voice and command of the craft, as do the following finalists that comprise the top ten submissions:

3. Like A Thief In The Night by Kyle D'Odorico

4. H is for Happiness by Lisa Hoppe

5. The Ploy by Stan Himes

6. Quality Time by Mike Costaris

7. Mrs. Bond by Kristi Hall

8. Sam Rockwell Can't Die by Amy Huckabay

9. Engage & Destroy by Paul Winchell

10. Bingo King by Jason Skorski

In addition to the ScreenCraft team, the jury included the following Hollywood executives: Joseph Garner, producer of THE HANGOVER PART II & III, DUE DATE, WAR DOGS and XOXO, development executive for Bradley Cooper and Todd Philip’s company Joint Effort with a 3-year production deal at Warner Bros.; Maggie Haskins, literary manager at Principato Young, the company behind many of Hollywood’s top comedy talent including Kate McKinnon, Will Arnett, Jordan Peele, John Travolta, Judy Greer, Christopher Mintz-Plasse and Ed Helms; Joe Farrell, development executive at Funny or Die Films, the company behind some of the funniest online videos (and now feature films) with access to top Hollywood talent; Jeannette Francis, development executive at STX Entertainment, the Hollywood studio behind blockbuster comedy BAD MOMS and the upcoming BAD DADS; and Cara Masline, literary manager at 3 Arts Entertainment, the production and management company behind such celebrated comedy Hollywood talent as Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Aziz Ansari, Louis CK, Maya Rudolph, Kevin Hart, Mindy Kaling, George Lopez, Matt LeBlanc, BJ Novak, James Franco, Charlie Day and more.

Grand Prize Winner Troccolo will receive a $1,000 cash prize and hand-picked industry consultations, Runner-up Erickson will receive $200 and judge feedback, and the top three finalists will each receive reader feedback and a free license to Final Draft 10.

Congratulations to these winning writers and finalists, and thank you to our judges and to everyone who submitted projects. View the quarter-finalists and semifinalists here.


Next Related Post

Get Our Newsletter!

Get weekly writing inspiration delivered to your inbox - including industry news, popular articles, and more!


Developing Your Own Script?

We'll send you a list of our free eCourses when you subscribe to our newsletter. No strings attached.

You Might Also Like

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram