2019 ScreenCraft Drama Screenplay Competition Semifinalists Announced

by ScreenCraft on November 5, 2019

Listed below are the semifinalists of the 2019 ScreenCraft Drama Screenplay Competition, selected from over 1,000 submissions. We’re excited to be exploring this classic genre and to have received a slate of such compelling screenplays.

This year's jury is comprised of agents and managers from LBI Entertainment and Kaplan/Perrone as well as development executives from Fox Searchlight and Paramount Players. Stay tuned for the upcoming announcements of the finalists and grand prize winners here and on our Twitter and Facebook pages within the next few weeks!

And if you’d like to receive a notification when this contest re-opens for entries in 2020, you can subscribe for updates via Coverfly here.

Here are the semifinalists:

90 Miles Ihor Gowda
A Fair Fight Peter Gazdag
A Kind of Marriage Charles Leipart
A Spaceship for Graham Morgan Herrmann
A Suspect in Arms Selcen M Onsan
A Tale of Two Cities Annie Phillips
A Writer's Acts Sam Wright
After Alcatraz Kevin Bruce
Ain't No Cowboys in Nashville Christopher O'Bryant
American Venus Tatiana Seay-Reynolds
American Vice Benjamin Feuer
Angel of Rain Lawrence Kennon
Animal Milena Korolczuk
Ashland Connor Wilks
At the Edge of the World Eugene La Haye & Buster La Haye
Augustus and Ophelia Greg Wishart
Avenue of The Giants Thomas Thonson
Back to the World Rebecca Shapiro & Shawn DePsaquale
Becoming Sinatra Richard Muti
Best Left Unsaid Jason Collin
Betsy and the Emperor Staton Rabin
Bette Caitlin Scherer & Jessica Sherr
Better Angels Helen Darvall
Beyond The Piave Chiara Cassaghi
Beyond the Seas Mike Spohr
Birthright Manu  Chopra
Black River Marielle Brinda
Blood Law Keith and Cassie Hayasaka
Blueprints robert celestino
Borderline Kenyetta  Smith
Captain Science John Nugent
Card Mechanic Robert Celestino
Carousel Brady Morell
Chó Jon Shaivitz
Charlie Hors Zack  Frizzell
Clint Eastwood Nasrul Ekram
Drive With Me Zachary Griffin
Elephant Angel Kevin Gibson
Eyes Wide Open Mark Diamond
Fasther Than Bullets Patrick Holden
Faster Than Horses Chris Mul & Michael Mul
Fissure Spencer Slovic
Forget Me Not Samantha Brewers
Forty-Second Boyd Richard Fowler
Funny Accent Barbara Shulgasser-Parker
Generic Joy Pedram Yazdanpanah
Girl Walks On Joseph Whaley & Ronda Barendse
Good Saint Binky Tom Batha
Gutter Daniel Mercaldi
Halfway Lukas Hassel
Harry, Above The Title Gavin Fields
Heading For Home Michael Feeney
Heck Chris Hicks
Helldorado Billie Bates
Here Comes the Night Zach Vest
Hills of Gold Lia Wang
Hit Me Harder Max Rissman
House Money Don Waldo
Immortal Natalie Metzger & Robert Allaire
Instantly Gene Golus
Insurrection Simon Bowler
Into The Dark Randy Kornfield
Jasmine Lee Cipolla
Jenna Nathan Chitayat
Jess Sean Jourdan
Jocko Derek Vitatoe
Keepsakes Rich Orstad
Killer Whales Alan Lambert
Klefti Means Thief Miranda Filippides
Knight of Destiny George Alexanian
La Grande Dame Camille Gallay  & Jason File
Land of Blood Graham Leverton
Letters from the Blue Nick Calori & Nicola Sersale
Liberty Chris Lawing
Like Gold Dust Martin Bell
Long March Adam Perin
Lord Have Herschel Michael Wohl
Man in the Arena Keon Hedayati
Meaning Train Jim Amicucci
Metal Mother Casimir Nozkowski
Miguel Lorenzo Colonna
Mockingbird Alex Forstenhausler & John Rotondo
My Haitian Dame Craig Roberts
Naomi Avraham Yaffe
No Man's Land Elad Ziv
No Room at the Inn Sean Kirkpatrick
On The Boundary Sejal Pachisia
On the Corner of Eden and Grace Marsha Pincus
Once Again Greg Wishart
Prostasia James Rogers
Punchbag Steven Snell
Put Out This Fire Sade Corneille
Raffi: The Rise and Fall of a Children's Music Superstar Brandon Gardner
Remember the Ladies Gina Mulligan
Requited Bill Johnston
Roar Jason Boyson & Leslie LaRue
Scuppernongs Lynne Ashe
Shelter In Place Brooke Purdy
Shores of a New Blood Mark Schmitz
Shoshanna Justin Olstein
Sinful Autonomy Miles Robinson
Small Town Girl Rosemary Zibart
Soul Man Kyle Taubken
State of Feist Lulu Cheri
Station Number Six Tim Sasaki
Stuck in the Mud Tyler Welch
Suplex Andy Compton
The Beautiful Kind Deborah Heslop
The Brothers Darwin CL Russo
The Dissident April Capil
The Dreamer Annette siegal
The Fight Inside Merridith Allen
The Hawks Jorge Arenillas
The Lease of Nature Anderson Boyd
The Master of Storms Demetra Pittman
The Pocketknife Jerry Perez
The Sins of Our Mothers Francesca Nider
The Switzerland Incident Eugene La Haye & Buster La Haye
The Year of Us Jenn Ficarra
This Is How It Ends Melia Gabriel
Top Ten Maureen Trinh
Transitioning Ruzena Zatko
True Conviction James Gulian
Tungus Aaron Whitten
Un Point Dé Depart (A Starting Point) Abigail Carpenter
Untouchable Dhruv Kanungo
Wartime Revelations Carlo Bordone
Weird Haircuts and Bad Attitudes Alyson Titkemeyer
Western Approaches Andrew Judge
White Lines Christmas Harrison Pierce

For all the latest ScreenCraft news and updates, follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.


Get Our Newsletter!

Get weekly writing inspiration delivered to your inbox - including industry news, popular articles, and more!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Developing Your Own Script?

We'll send you a list of our free eCourses when you subscribe to our newsletter. No strings attached.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

You Might Also Like

Your success is our #1 priority. We provide aspiring writers industry access, free resources and inspiration, and a community to support you through every step of your creative journey.

Writing Competitions

Success Stories