2018 ScreenCraft Pilot Launch Competition Finalists Announced

by ScreenCraft - updated on August 16, 2022

Listed below are the finalists of the 2018 ScreenCraft Pilot Launch competition. These exceptional pilots were selected from roughly 2,500 submissions. Congratulations to the writers who have made it this far and thanks to all for submitting.

This year's jury is comprised of creative executives, coordinators and development heads at HBO, AMC and Amazon Studios, as well as a manager at 3 Arts Entertainmenand a story consultant for NBC's Writers on the Verge.

Check out the 2018 ScreenCraft Pilot Launch competition announcement of our grand prize winners and our Twitter and Facebook pages. Winners in three categories (Drama, Comedy and Web Series) will receive cash and introduction to industry professionals. These writers are being considered for the top prize in each category. The prizes and categories are as follows:And if you’d like to receive a notification when this contest re-opens for entries in 2019, you can subscribe for updates via Coverfly here. Without further ado, here are the finalists across three categories:

One Hour Series

Bounty Gary Howell
Chalk Nick Jones
Children of Free Kaycee Hughes
Concrete Jungle David Kushner
Dark Horizons Carlo Carere & Erin Carere
Flowerfield Mukilan Thangamani
Gunpowder Kevin Sheridan
In Chrysalis Nelson Downend
N A T I V E Kevin Walls
Otherworld Dawn Prato
R.P.M. Jeffrey Jackson
Rock Show Liam Semple
Storyville Mariah Gretchen Robinson
The Deep End Mark Lyons & Alex Harris
The Line Jeff Bower
The Mogul Maxine Milan
The Queen Of Caspary Laura Solow
Tucked Robert Axelrod
Untitled Lindsay Farris Project Lindsay Farris
Wellwick Kaycee Hughes
Yellow Zara Meerza


Half Hour Series

Post-Nuclear Family John Niemiec
Druid of the Danu John Paul Murphy, Chris Bramante
How to Grieve Chelsea  Gray
It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia: "The Gang Thrives without Dennis" Richard Turgeon
Nearly Super Nova Annie Nishida
The King is Dead Gabriel Cruz
The Secret Life of Inbred Mutants Sean Collins-Smith


Web Series

Negative Space James Comfort II
The Guardian Cedrick May


For all the latest ScreenCraft news and updates, follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Get Our Newsletter!

Get weekly writing inspiration delivered to your inbox - including industry news, popular articles, and more!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Developing Your Own Script?

We'll send you a list of our free eCourses when you subscribe to our newsletter. No strings attached.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

You Might Also Like

Your success is our #1 priority. We provide aspiring writers industry access, free resources and inspiration, and a community to support you through every step of your creative journey.

Writing Competitions

Success Stories