2018 ScreenCraft Cinematic Short Story Competition Finalists Announced

Listed below are the finalists of the 2018 ScreenCraft Cinematic Short Story Competition, selected from roughly 1,200 submissions. We’re excited to be exploring these excellent stories and to have received a slate of compelling works.

This year’s jury is comprised of editors from The Paris Review, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and Granta Magazine, as well as an O. Henry Award-winning novelist and short story writer.

Stay tuned for the upcoming announcement of grand prize winner here and on our Twitter and Facebook pages within the next few weeks!

If you’d like to receive a notification when this contest re-opens for entries in 2019, you can subscribe for updates via Coverfly here.

Here are the top 25 finalists:

A Seat at The Window Herb Jordan
Adelaide Amy Lambert
Blonde Noir DC Diamondopolous
Butterfly Melissa Tantaquidgeon Zobel
By the Light of the Fireflies Marjorie Florestal
Conference of the Birds Huda Razzak
Freeway of Love Alida Thacher
Marion’s Marseilles Jack Mayer
My Double Dutch Girl Gila K. Berryman
On the Properties of Things Mary Barnes Jenkins
One Star Tim O’Leary
Panopticon Kevin Kneupper
Pink Like Candy Floss Janet Ritchie
Quality of Life Christine Sneed
Restricted Fantasies Kevin Kneupper
Sick Robot D.C. Lozar
Spiral Bound Tracy Schumer
Split Key John Rosenberg
Swamp Girl Ruth Knafo Setton
The Caregiver Jim Gourley
The Third Woman (Revision) Miriam Kuznets
The Witch of Burgess Ave. J. Patrick Henry
Unthinkable John David Taylor
Waiting For The Big One Catherine Shorr
Yagruma Rosa Soy


For all the latest ScreenCraft news and updates, follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.