Announcing The 2nd Annual ScreenCraft Screenwriting Fellowship Recipients

By February 2, 2015Blog, Featured

LOS ANGELES, February 2, 2015 – ScreenCraft is excited to announce the recipients of the 2nd annual ScreenCraft Screenwriting Fellowship. Presented by Celtx, the fellowship is designed to advance the careers of talented screenwriters through ongoing consultation and introductions to key entertainment executives and talent representatives.

The recipients are:

  • Jeffrey R. Field, for his feature Jacksonville
  • Mark J. Stasenko Jr., for his feature Losing Touch
  • Kevin P. Taft, for his feature The Boys Who Cried Wolf

Jacksonville, a colorful, seriocomic crime thriller, centers on a wounded Army vet who rescues the scion of an illegal arms dealer from kidnappers only to have her blackmail him into killing a key trial witness against her family.

In the visionary two-hander Losing Touch, a suicidal young divorcé sentenced to a mandatory stay in a psych ward discovers a whole new kind of madness when his elderly schizophrenic roommate drags him from the hospital and across every inch of the city in a chaotic quest to find the wife he claims was taken from him decades ago as part of a sinister conspiracy.

An elevated and emotional descent into horror, The Boys Who Cried Wolf focuses on two young brothers who fake a haunting in their home in a last-ditch effort to keep their parents from divorcing…only to then be targeted by a real demonic presence they must fight all alone.

Selected from over 2,000 writers who submitted features and pilots from all over the world, Field, Stasenko Jr., and Taft will each receive a $1,000 writing grant. After a development period with ScreenCraft, they will be gathered in Los Angeles to meet mentors Scott Neustadter, Jordan Horowitz, Michael Costigan and Jen Grisanti. These winning writers will also meet with a literary agent from one of the big five agencies (WME, CAA, UTA, ICM, Paradigm) and with development executives and industry representatives at such companies as Warner Brothers, Lionsgate, Mosaic Media, Kaplan/Perrone, Participant Media, and Heretic Literary Management.

The runners-up of the 2014 ScreenCraft Screenwriting Fellowship reflect a diverse slate of genres and sensibilities and are listed as follows:

  • Face Value by Gretchen Somerfeld (story by David Baxter and Gretchen Somerfeld)
  • Prince of Madness by Jason Skorski
  • Blood in the Water by Natasja Maria Fourie
  • Leni by Adam Biddle
  • Eggs by Averie Storck
  • Holly & Tyler by Aaron Moss
  • Number 10 by Susie Shannon

ScreenCraft is a media company and screenwriting consultancy dedicated to helping screenwriters and filmmakers advance their careers.

Celtx is a world leader in development of media preproduction tools for writers and independent filmmakers. Celtx desktop software is used by over four million creators in 170 countries working in 34 language.

Click here for all upcoming ScreenCraft contest dates.