Announcing the 2019 ScreenCraft Short Screenplay Competition Finalists

by ScreenCraft on October 22, 2019

We’re excited to feature the scripts listed below that comprise the finalists of the 2019 ScreenCraft Short Screenplay Competition. With the rise in demand for high-quality short content across new platforms and devices, and the increased industry importance placed on short filmmaking worldwide, we are honoring the craft of short-form narrative screenwriting via this competition, which features a prestigious jury of industry-leading professionals.

This year's jury includes executives and programmers from the Sundance Film Festival, Cannes Film Festival, Short of the Week, and Shorts.TV.

Stay tuned for the upcoming announcements of the grand prize winner here and on our Twitter and Facebook pages within the next few weeks!

And if you’d like to receive a notification when this contest re-opens for entries in 2020, you can subscribe for updates via Coverfly here.

Without further ado, here are the top 50 finalists:

A Beautiful Day J. Logan Alexander
A Graduation Peier Shen
Affirmation Greg Willybiro
Arriving At Manuel Fil Medina
Ashes Edith Rodriguez
Blood on the Run Michael Flannelly
Borrowed Time Geoff Murillo
Bull and Bear: A Love Story David Healy
Chualar Ann Marie Pace
Cold Water Jay Perry & Shaun Perry
Dawn Alexandra Ruggieri
Dearest Dolly Darling Beckley Vincent
Do It For Her Luke Janisko
Dunked John Bickerstaff
Haniya Nancy Vogl
He Was Unarmed Bryce Marrero
Ilsa William Patton
Inside Roderick Kayne Louis  Alvarez
James Adam Jones
Juana Pelos Maria Mealla
Kid Midnight Mychal Sargent
Leila's Gift Mithra Alavi & Zein Khleif
Life is a Drag Kyle de Villafane
Lunchbox Anne Hu
Metamorphose Simon Deeley
Missed Connections Zach Griffin
Moving Day Howard Harband
Overdue Shaun Radecki
Possum Lyndal Simpson
Residue Matt Thomas & Braden LuBell
Return to Sender Blake Simon
SHILO'S WAR Nick Denbeigh
Skinface Gary Daniel Giachetti
Sold Logan Palmer
Taipei Suicide Story Kevin Wang
The Cricket Gabe Berry
The Crossing Tom Levesque
The Deal Mitch Olson
The Killing Room Floor Kyle Andrews
The Last Book Shop Michael Crame
The Little Astronaut Brody McKinnon
The Other Side Snigdha Kapoor
The Railway Ghost Adam Lucas
The Red Mirror Steve Rooney
The Telling Jacob Combs
Thieves Anthony Brenneman
Tony and Annette Daisy Eagan
Welcome to the Homeland Royce Wilmot
You Janine Gilbert
You Are My Fish And I Will Keep You Alive Emily Frederick

For all the latest ScreenCraft news and updates, follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Get Our Newsletter!

Get weekly writing inspiration delivered to your inbox - including industry news, popular articles, and more!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Developing Your Own Script?

We'll send you a list of our free eCourses when you subscribe to our newsletter. No strings attached.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

You Might Also Like

Your success is our #1 priority. We provide aspiring writers industry access, free resources and inspiration, and a community to support you through every step of your creative journey.

Writing Competitions

Success Stories