Announcing the 2019 ScreenCraft Horror Screenplay Competition Finalists

by ScreenCraft on October 2, 2019

We’re excited to feature the scripts listed below that comprise the finalists of the 2019 ScreenCraft Horror Screenplay Competition. Horror is one of the proven genres for newcomers to the craft – and we're always looking for talented new writers. Our Hollywood judges include Creative Executives, Managers, and filmmakers behind such horror films as Get Out, Paranormal Activity, Insidious, The Purge, Sinister, Us, Mandy, It Follows, The Butterfly Effect, Hereditary and Midsommar.

The winner of the concept category will receive an exclusive developmental mentoring prize package with Brittany Klesic of Monkeypaw Productions.

Stay tuned for the upcoming announcement of grand prize winner here and on our Twitter and Facebook pages within the next few weeks!

And if you’d like to receive a notification when this contest re-opens for entries in 2020, you can subscribe for updates via Coverfly here.

Without further ado, here are the top 50 finalists:

Screenplay Category

Appalachia Brian Otting
Ask Christine Danielle Gershberg
Bare Metal Jess Gupta
Bitterroot Matthew Kaler
Companion John Darbonne
Crate Alex Pickering & Matthew Breault
Dear Marie Alex Forstenhausler
Doomway Stephen Polakiewicz
Fountain of You David Holmes
Fresh Hell Dave Rock
Ghost Signs Jace Daniel
Girls Start Rumors Tessa Whitehead
Hell Is An Open Door Jim Lopezzo
Hugh Jackman Stole My Husband Maisie Culver
I'll Follow You Into the Dark Michael Campbell
Intended Joe Vallese
Into the Trees Matt O'Connor
Junkyard Dan Riesser & Mike Kinshella
Last Lights Alexander  Torres
Love to Watch You Bleed Borden Sisters
Miscreations Alan Loubeau & Mike Meyerson
Night Comes to Wolf Creek Andrew Mecham & Matthew  Whedon
No Man's Land Barry Ambrose & Armand Kachigian
Open House Sean Jourdan & John Ingle
Polar Christopher Kearney
Ride-along Chris Mul & Michael Mul
Shadow Cody Pearce
She Keeps Calling Justin Lee
Shifters Alexander Messana & Adam Messana
Tarabull Esdras Romero
Tender Zoe Vitale
The Boy Graham Manson
The Devil's Bite Ervin Anderson
The Followers Colin Dalvit
The Home Jason Goldberg
The Man in the Wood Alex Schor
The Outback Paul Chang
The Peak of Fear kevin bachar
The Prince of Earth Mike Robinson
The Something David Hudacek
The Tormented Chris Bolton
The Wraith Orhan Sumen
Theory of Mind John Licata
Yellow Kamal Moo & Chris Yeazel
Zora Maria Wilson

Concept Category

An Ordinary Silence Mylissa Fitzsimmons
Deathcentralized Luca Filipi & Robert Jaworzyn
Getaway Laura  Grey & Megan Stein
Pelicans Ash Strayer
Project Terrace Tony Merkurii & Jade Widger

For all the latest ScreenCraft news and updates, follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Get Our Newsletter!

Get weekly writing inspiration delivered to your inbox - including industry news, popular articles, and more!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Developing Your Own Script?

We'll send you a list of our free eCourses when you subscribe to our newsletter. No strings attached.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

You Might Also Like

Your success is our #1 priority. We provide aspiring writers industry access, free resources and inspiration, and a community to support you through every step of your creative journey.

Writing Competitions

Success Stories