Announcing the 2018 ScreenCraft Horror Screenplay Contest Semifinalists

by ScreenCraft on September 6, 2018

We’re excited to feature the screenplays listed below, comprising the semifinalists of the 2018 ScreenCraft Horror Screenplay Contest. Horror is one of the most successful proven genres for newcomers to the craft – and the industry is always looking for talented new horror writers. Our Hollywood judges have produced some of the most iconic horror and dark-genre films of the last decade including A Quiet Place, Paranormal Activity, Get Out, Unfriended and Insidious.

Stay tuned for the upcoming announcements of the finalists and winners here and on our Twitter and Facebook pages within the next couple weeks! And if you'd like to receive a notification when this contest re-opens for entries next year, you can subscribe for updates via Coverfly here.

Without further ado, here are the 2018 horror semifinalists:

700 Feet Jason Goldberg
A Precise Understanding of Darkness R. Shanea Williams
Alpha Nathan Alan Bunker
Anora Eric Williford
Babes in the Woods Billy Thompson
Black Death Zombie Geoffrey Uhl
Black Friday Andy Greskoviak
Burner Mukilan Thangamani
Buzz Kill Kyle McDonald
Colomi Sam Yano
Consumered Robert Klinger
Crushing Black Wes Crandall
Cryptodome Nathanael Vass
Curse The Ground Gabby Gruen
Darklands Paul Sheridan
Darling Kevin  Bauer
Dead Strays Neil Chase
Deadville Jeffrey Boggio
Desperate Times Kimberly Britt
Devil's Delights Nickolas Shepherd & Toni Shepherd
Devotion Brian Thompson
Eblis Tom Omokaro
Extranjero Supremo Theo Sariklis
Flesh and Blood Jordan Light
Forget-Me-Nots John Dummer
Freaky Friday... the 13th! Derek Steiner
Good Luck, Nightingale Shannon Wells
Harvest Ted Horning
Havenwood Jai Brandon
Hell Is An Open Door Jim Lopezzo
Hers Nicole Muller & Elizabeth Eromosele
Hot Southern Mess Justin Farmer
i,Phine'd Jeff Bassetti
In The Blood Samuel Minier
Kabul Nights Christian Kaps
Landlord Ben Grover
Last Period Dylan Kim
Mad Molly J.R. Halterlein
Method Louis Paxton
Miss Violet Christopher Schrack
Monsters of Men Scott Dale
Mysterium Sheldon Woodbury
Nite Stalkers James Morgan
Ocean Effect Heather Farlinger
OmegaDawn Eric Taylor
Partricks Road Terry Crist
Remember the Fire David Snee
Resurrection Girl and the Curse of the Wendigo Nathan Ludwig
Settlement Jason Sheedy
She's Next Timothy Mendonca & Lizz Dorovitsine
Shimmerverse Eric Humble
Skins of the Father Paul Fulton
Spine Danny  Glasgow
Terror/13 Darren Callahan
The Babysitter Leah Welch
The Cleansing John Kennedy
The Crossing Joshua Bartolome
The Dark Place Jim Hunsaker
The Demon Factory Bradley King & Zeb Wells
The Desolation of Stoneheir, Alaska Sean Buckley
The Drifter A. Jake Hansen & David Christopher Pitt
The Endling Devin Fearn
The Festival Dene Stark
The King in Yellow Kein  Carroll
The Night Before the Exhibition Kirston Fortune
The Night Walk Nikhail Asnani
The Ones That Got Away Bobby Gorman & Marc Adams
The Rules That Keep Us Safe Gemma Hurley & Markus Meedt
The Unkind Neth Knowles
The Vultures Eric Dickson
There's Nothing Wrong with Us Nathan Crooker
They Keep Me Around Nikhail Asnani
They Whisper David Bush
Tight Lips Martin Wathen
Undertow Kevin Bauer & Erin Whittemore
Violet Lori Bowen
When Horror Met Sally Ervin V. Anderson
Whitetails Sean Bode
Wolves Don't Cry Scott Fleishman

Get Our Newsletter!

Get weekly writing inspiration delivered to your inbox - including industry news, popular articles, and more!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Developing Your Own Script?

We'll send you a list of our free eCourses when you subscribe to our newsletter. No strings attached.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

You Might Also Like

Your success is our #1 priority. We provide aspiring writers industry access, free resources and inspiration, and a community to support you through every step of your creative journey.

Writing Competitions

Success Stories