2018 ScreenCraft Short Screenplay Contest Winners Announced

by ScreenCraft on November 15, 2018

The Rubicon by Aminah Hughes has been selected as the winner of the 2018 ScreenCraft Short Screenplay contest. It is a subtle yet gripping character piece as an independent woman comes to the realization that she is in an abusive relationship, betokened by a ballerina in a painting. Captivating judges with the confident voice and delicate care shown to its subject matter, the self-contained narrative and visual risk-taking embodied everything a narrative short should be.

I Live Alone, Everyone Does by George Snape has been named the runner-up. In a futuristic world where interaction is confined to television and tablets and human engagement is resoundingly punished, a serendipitous meeting between a young man and woman offers them a brief chance at the unfamiliar feelings of romance. While the world was strikingly similar to our own, the judges responded strongly to the moments of humor and general weirdness of the style.

In addition to the ScreenCraft team, the judges included: Trevor Kress, the Director of Brand Contest & Partnerships at Stage 13, Warner Bros. original digital content network; Winnie Kemp, the VP of Original Content for Super Deluxe; Andrew Allen, the Founder & Managing Director of Short of the Week; and Jeffrey Bowers, a curator of short films for Staff Picks for Vimeo and VICE Shorts.

If you’d like to receive a notification when this contest re-opens for entries in 2019, you can subscribe for updates via Coverfly here.

Here is the full list of our 25 Finalists:

Benny Liz Felix
Bucky Jeffrey Doiron
Call Me Lina Demetris Yiapanis
Cherry Pie Dominic Finocchiaro
Freya Sophia Tamaro & Jo Fox
Hyper Real Adam Cosco
I Live Alone, Everyone Does George Snape
It's OK. He's Friendly. Brian Menz
Juggernaut Michael Goyert
Little Icarus Irene Herbruger
North Star P.J. Palmer
Picnic at the end of the World Chris Dumbleton
Reel Life Jeremy Span
Sergio: A Scorpion's Tale Shaun Radecki
Springerle Finley Mulligan
T.G.I.F. Arthur Menko & Roy van Kessel
That Girl Is Poison Jessica DiGiacinto
The Astronaut Joey Connolley
The Discarded James Boyce
The Gazebo Richard Willett
The Great Kopycinski Susannah Hunt
The Morning Glory of Saint Winwaloe V.C. Lennox
The Rubicon Aminah Hughes
To Hear From You Charles Hopkins
Whatever Happened to Muffin Robert Frankel

The top two winners will receive cash prizes and circulation of their projects to the ScreenCraft Network, and the top three finalists will receive a lifetime license to WriterDuet screenwriting software.

Congratulations to these winning writers and finalists, and thank you to our judges and to everyone who submitted projects. View the quarterfinalists and semifinalists here.

For all the latest ScreenCraft news and updates, follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Get Our Newsletter!

Get weekly writing inspiration delivered to your inbox - including industry news, popular articles, and more!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Developing Your Own Script?

We'll send you a list of our free eCourses when you subscribe to our newsletter. No strings attached.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

You Might Also Like

Your success is our #1 priority. We provide aspiring writers industry access, free resources and inspiration, and a community to support you through every step of your creative journey.

Writing Competitions

Success Stories