BlogContestsFeaturedStage Play

2019 ScreenCraft Stage Play Competition Semifinalists Announced

By February 12, 2020 No Comments

Listed below are the semifinalists of the 2019 ScreenCraft Stage Play competition. These impressive projects written for the stage were selected from nearly 700 entries. Congratulations to the writers who have made it this far and thanks to all for submitting.

This year's jury is comprised of three Pulitzer Prize-winning playwrights, an agent at Creative Artists Agency, and an Emerging Playwright and Award-winning writer on OWN's Queen Sugar.

Stay tuned for the upcoming announcements of the finalists and grand prize winners here and on our Twitter and Facebook pages within the next few weeks!

If you’d like to receive a notification when this contest re-opens for entries in 2020, you can subscribe for updates via Coverfly here.

Here are the semifinalists:

30th Ave Matt Fried
60 Yards North of Roanoke Greg Harrison Davis
A Couple of Months Deborah Riley
A Green Old Age Bryan Crockett
Alchemy of the Spirit J. Thalia Cunningham
Bad Hearts Mike Bencivenga
Behind the opera Mathias Lefevre
Black Sky Amanda Andrei
Bound By Truth Sheila Rinear
Broken: Devlin Elliott
Chicken In A Box Whitney Powell
Child of Lions Jared Michael Delaney
Colloquia David Zarko
Color Timer Michael Long
D'Eon Renny Krupinski
Dateline: Greensboro Paul Woolverton & John Merritt
Delusions of Power David Dubczak
Do Not Go Gentle Paul McLaughlin
Elvira Arnold Gold
Even Flowers Bloom in Hell, sometimes Franky Gonzalez
Evening Michael Raver
Fair is Foul Marc Ellis
Fixx Me Marisa Wexler
For Better, For Worse Reed Arnold
Four White Flowers Kendall Fowler
Gentleman's War W. Colin McKay
Happy Hour Sam Roseme
Heroine Addiction Melodie Edwards
Huntington Jamie Cowperthwait
Icarus in the Sea Saige Cross
In The Winter of Pretty Kristeen Tadich
Ink'dWell Erin Adams
Isaac, A Documentary Play in Two Acts Lee Franklin
Leftovers Ellen Wittlinger
Liberty Sarah Lawrence
Made in Heaven Steven Bogart
Mr. Waheeb David Loughlin
Nurse Cadden Kate Mickere
On the Border Howard Waxman
One Kill Rule Mare Jones
OTOSOTR (On the Other Side of the River) Anatoliy Ogay
Pun-Off: A Musical Inside the High-Stakes World of Pun Competitions Matthew Patrick Davis & Joe Chandler
QC, the gay rodeo musical Bear Kosik
Song To The Moon Ron Elisha
Taste of Soap Ariel Zucker
The Advocate Bill Mesce, Jr.
The Crying Tree Peter Gunter
The Dishonoured Aamina Ahmad
The Even More Lamentable Tragedy of Lavinia Laura Zlatos
The Foxhole Mark Liebert
The Goodbye Levee Mike Solomonson
The Lost Art of Making Cheese Tracy Schumer
The Senator's Bad Day Elaine Purnell
The Tin Whistle Bryan Crockett
The Turkey Farm Chris Wellard
The Watertown Primary Jim Macak
Three Chords Kim Kolarich
Three Men Steven Elliott Jackson
TickTickBoom M. Lee Speyer
Toss of the Dice David Saffan
Truth Be Told William Cameron
Unentitled Charles White
Various Emporia Howard Ho
Veils of Justice Tita Anntares
Watchers Patrick Shaw
What's Lost Paula B. Stanic

For all the latest ScreenCraft news and updates, follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.