2019 ScreenCraft Sci-Fi & Fantasy Screenplay Competition Winners Announced

By July 17, 2019Blog, Contests, Featured

Pod by Nabil Chowdhary has been selected as the winner of the 2019 ScreenCraft Sci-Fi and Fantasy Screenplay Competition. After a mission to destroy a black hole that endangers mankind goes wrong, an astronaut awakens in her escape pod to find that decades have passed. With an old body and fragile mind, she battles against the elements of space to complete the mission. Chowdhary impressed judges with his strong dialogue and tension held from scene to scene,

Eat Me! by Tatiana Seay-Reynolds has been selected as the runner-up. When a brilliant, beautiful, seemingly “perfect” girl is sent to treatment after having a seizure from severe Anorexia, she finds herself followed by a vampire, in the body of her secret crush, who demands her blood for love. In addition to the unique presence, the judges were taken by the uniqueness of the voice and unpredictable plot twists.

In Suspension by Amara Mesnik has been named the winner of our inaugural concept category. She will receive an exclusive development mentorship with jury member, Jonathan Wu.

In addition to the ScreenCraft team, the judges included: Jonathan Wu, Development Executive at Hello Sunshine and formerly of 20th Century Fox, Charlie Scully, a manager at Anonymous Content, Tiffani Hiler, a manager at Grandview, and John Tynan & Jeremy Berney, managers at Mosaic.

Grand prize winner Chowdhary will receive a $1,000 cash prize and hand-picked industry consultations, while Seay-Reynolds will receive $500 and will have her script circulated and recommended to ScreenCraft’s network of over 60 managers, agents, producers and development executives. All semifinalists and above receive a 50% discount to WriterDuet Pro.

The following projects have also been selected to receive special mention:

Axium Effect Ari Dassa
Crabs in a Bucket Tal Almog
Darryn The Bold and The Sword of Boldness Justin Best
Kinetic Kylie Eaton
Linoleum Colin West
Mother Inside Jesmond Francis
The Sun Ghost Arun Croll
The Tiger’s Daughter Jason Lee

Congratulations to these winning writers, and thank you to our judges and to everyone who submitted projects; we read a number of remarkable screenplays. View the quarterfinalists, semifinalists, and finalists here.

And if you’d like to receive a notification when this contest re-opens for entries in 2020, you can subscribe for updates via Coverfly here.

For all the latest ScreenCraft news and updates, follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.