Announcing the 2018 ScreenCraft Public Domain Screenplay Contest Quarterfinalists

By August 2, 2018Blog, Featured

We’re excited to feature the scripts listed below that comprise the quarterfinalists of the 2018 ScreenCraft Public Domain Screenplay Contest. This competition highlights Hollywood’s longstanding tradition of adaptations based on free intellectual property in the public domain, such as folk tales, fairy tales, mythology and books and plays published before 1923.

Our jury’s credits this year include Frost/Nixon, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Hook, Bram Stoker’s Dracula, Machine Gun Preacher, Dredd, and The Brother’s Grimm.

This year’s contest is officially sponsored by the HartChart story-mapping software, created by ScreenCraft judge and acclaimed screenwriter James V. Hart.

Stay tuned for the upcoming announcements of the semifinalists and grand prize winners here and on our Twitter and Facebook pages within the next few weeks! Without further ado, here are the quarterfinalists:

A Better Place Katterina Powers
A Case of Subtle Beauty Sandra Fox-Sohner
A Piece Of Steak Graham Waldrop
Ahwahnee: Land of The Yosemite Carole Nee-Ta-Kee Marie
Alice and Dorothy Greg McCarron
American Colony Juan Francisco de la Guardia
American Fairytales Reed Murphy
American Giants Michael Chandler
American Phoenix Jane Hampton Cook
An American Manner Matthew Cesario
Anne Bonny Allison Quiller
Armand & Desiree Evelyn A Petros
Armor Bryant Daluz
Beauty Sean Kohnen
Belle Star Susan Quarles
Benito Cereno Robert Dunne
Black Magic Bayou Raymond Just
Black Robes Paul Schultz
Black Wall Street Anand Fozard-McCall
Bloodhounds David Marantz
Bone Wars Adam Lohman
Candide Christian McDonald
Caravaggio Paul Psarras & George Psarras
Cassandra Phoebe Nir
Castle Rackrent Mary Barrett
Catalpa Michael  Kalesniko
Charles-town Erron Adair
Charming Tom Albanese & Christopher Jones
Commune Sense Marley Inksetter
Cratchit Katherine Botts
Crimson Skies: Flight of the Falcon Sean Wathen
Devil’s Delights Nickolas Shepherd & Toni Shepherd
Dorian Daniel Wright
Dracula’s Domain Jay Woelfel
Finding Alexandria Sy Huq
Flawed Becky Head
Formerly Fat Housewife Hilary Gish & Carolyn Getches
Galileo Matthew Pancer
Guilty Alan Thornburg
He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven Peter Forster
Head of the Gorgon Dani Di Placido
Heloise + Abelard Gayla Kraetsch Hartsough
Hood V. King Matt Schutt
House Craven Kaycee Hughes
Huck Finn Rebellion Joseph Mango
Ice Wanderer Maria Hinterkoerner
Innsmouth Carolyn Johnson
Insurrection simon Bowler
Jezebel Marina Albert
John & Meryl – “Pilot” Jimmy Prosser
Knots + Crosses Matthew McCraw
Land of Tiny Trees Audra Gorman
Liberty Chris Cartusciello
Little Red John Kirk & Erik Gardner
Lost Kids Molly Gerth
Mark Twain’s ‘The Prince and the Pauper’ Rikki Stinnette
Matanzas Piotr Kaszuba
Men Like Gods Vincent DeVito
Musketeers: Liberation Andrew Judge
Napoleon: The Age of Revolution Kevin Karp
Nights of Wonder Carla Kanthak
Nottingham Karl Archer
Oath Paul Frank
Oscar Wilde’s ‘Dorian Gray’ Michael Quintana
Our Own Particular Little Brother Susanne Pride Notman
Out of the Sea Luke Hart-Moynihan & Chris Hart-Moynihan
Patrick’s Road Terry Crist
Peter Pan Returns Josh Wallace
Pink Noir Matt Schutt
Powderkeg Denise Meyers
Ragged Dick Anthony Coote
Renfield Marc Morgenstern
Rikki Tikki Tavi Tobe Roberts
Roadmen: The Ridiculously True Story of the 1904 Tour de France Carla Miles
Rosie the Riveter Zac Kish
Ryder’s Escape Rich Duisenberg
Sand Creek Jane Paulson & Marcy Kelly
Sarah, Soldier Cara Winter
Saving America Michael Lederer
SCARLET Keaton McGruder
Sedger Mor Catherine Wright
Serpent Queen Nikki Cole
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s “The Lost World” Nuri Tal
Sir Ivanhoe Douglas Kissock
Slushy: A Snowball’s Chance in Hell Jordan Riley
South J. Ernesto Dominguez
Stitched D.L.C. Heslop
Taking the Fall Sean Flaherty
Tarbell’s Men Mary Keating
That Sister Thang Lindiwe Mueller-Westernhagen & Dale Winton
The Argonauts: Heroes of Greece Scott Robert Waldvogel & Matt DeMartini
The Bronte Girls Caroline Franklin
The Bundy Tapes Thomas Banuelos
The Call of Cthulhu Adam Baker
The Country Wife Micah Delhauer
The Dark Trail Mack Lewis
The Doctor Within Jeffrey Swerdan
The Fall of the House of Usher Ronald Ecker
The First and Last King of America Richard Guimond
The First Detective James Spector
The Golem Daniel Flint
The Heresy of Galileo Charles Valenza
The Hollyhock Club Sarah James
The Interrogation of Peter Pan In Hee Hong
The Island of Doctor Moreau Tim Mihocik
The Legend of the Forty Thieves Scott Hamilton
The Light Princess Michael Cohn
The Lost Colony Ashley Griggs
The Los Wendy Dominique Hinman
The Machine – “Pilot” Cory Greeson
The Maharaja – “Pilot” Amar Rehal
The Michigan Assassin Mohummad Humza Elahi
The Most Dangerous Game Paul da Silva
The Patsy Martin Bernard Foley
The Pimpernel Douglas Kissock
The Portent Esther Agulian Carr
The Prisoner of Zenda Laura Miller
The Profile of Dorian Gray Alexandra Timmer
The Quarter Jenna St. John
The Resurrectionists Travis Opgenorth
The Sacring Eric LaRocca
The Silver Screen J.J. Bitters
The Star Jonathan Medici
The Tallest of Tales Drew Wagner
The Unholy Three Simon Tatum
The Winnipeg Wolf Alex Petroff
The Witch of Pungo J Darin Wales
The Wolfsbane Mark Baltrinic
The Yellow King Maceo Greenberg & Laura Picklesimer
Theseus: King of Athens Matthew  Russo
Tillie David Chester & Blake Pinter
Transatlantic Traffick Maggie Tsavaris
Ulys B. E. Marvis
Unfit (aka 4F) Daniel Boddicker
Velveteen Curtain- “Rabbit Feet” Leigh Cantero
Villette Marjory Kaptanoglu
Walt Whitman Dan Sonnett
Wayland the Smith Jeff Hammer
When the World was Square Irwin Greenstein
White Night:Survivors of Jonestown Alex Smith & Betty Stafford
William Shakespeare’s The Wiener King Danny Glasgow
Wonderland Carolyn Johnson
Wonderland Ted Wilkes
Yellow Zara Meerza
Young Aleister Crowley Greg Wayne
Zenda Paul Mendelson & Paul Alexander