2017 ScreenCraft Screenwriters Residency Program in Jamaica Winners Announced

The writers listed below have been selected to receive free tuition to attend the inaugural ScreenCraft Screenwriters Residency Program in Treasure Beach, Jamaica, presented by the Calabash Literary Festival and the Jamaica Film & Television Association (JAFTA). These writers have been awarded 100% free tuition for the entire program:

  • The Lean by Pearse Lehane
  • Blood Brothers by Peter Hunziker & Cynthia Riddle
  • Shoot The Girl by Tony Hendriks
  • We Killed The Boss by Alana Igbe

The following writers also have been accepted to attend the program:

  • Stone Drive by Sylvia Llewellyn
  • Delivery by Tyson Compton
  • Beginner's History by Emily Cheever
  • Fairhaven by Kurt Wright
  • Mercurial by Edison Bailey
  • Orphans by Robert Porter
  • Hell by May-Mei Lee
  • The Division by Clea Frost
  • The Transfer by Lori Ochsner
  • The Rouge by Aimee Johnson
  • Lynched by Chloe Bellande
  • The Charmed Life of Mrs. Conroy by Amir Mohabbat

These screenwriters will spend September 12-16 in Jamaica and be mentored by an all-star group of Hollywood professionals. Mentors include: Vanessa Ford from the Weinstein Company, screenwriters Peter Craig (THE TOWN, THE HUNGER GAMES: MOCKINGJAY), Geoffrey Fletcher (Oscar-winning writer of PRECIOUS), TV screenwriter and showrunner Zack Estrin (PRISON BREAK, new LOST IN SPACE on Netflix), Sony Pictures VP Eric Fineman and literary manager Hannah Ozer from Kaplan/Perrone Management.

Congratulations to these writers, and to the semifinalists and quarter-finalists, and thank you to everyone who submitted.